Bread Pudding Sunday

Today I attempted something new… I ย made bread pudding. Hence the late post…

I’ve never even had a taste of it before and yet I’ve been quite set that I needed to make it!

It’s all about the bread…

And it has pecans so its healthy right?

Mmm… still healthy right?

 

Chocolate Bread Pudding with Rum Toffee Sauce (Recipe by Bobby Dean – that’s right, Paula Deen’s son – I trust it)

Total time: 1 hr 45 min

Prep 20 min

Inactive 15 min

Cook 1 hr 10 min

Yield: 8 to 10 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 loaf Hawaiian bread, cut into 1-inch cubes (I used plain focaccia)
  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream, divided
  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1 cup sugar, plus 2 tablespoons, divided
  • 1/2 stick butter, melted
  • 4 large eggs
  • 8 (1-ounce) squares semisweet chocolate, finely chopped (I used 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips – that’s all I had!)
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • Rum Toffee Sauce, recipe follows

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease a 13 by 9-inch baking dish.

Add the bread cubes to a large bowl.

In a medium bowl, whisk together 1 1/2 cups of the cream, the milk, 1 cup sugar, butter, and eggs. Add the cream mixture to the bread cubes, stirring to combine. Let stand for 15 minutes. Stir in the chocolate and pecans. Spoon the mixture into the prepared baking dish. Drizzle with remaining 1/2 cup cream and sprinkle with remaining 2 tablespoons sugar. Bake until the center is set, about 1 hour. Serve with Rum Toffee Sauce.

 

Rum Toffee Sauce

  • 2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 3/4 cup dark rum
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a medium saucepan, combine the brown sugar and butter. Bring to a boil over medium heat. Reduce the heat, stir in the cream and rum and simmer for 4 minutes. Remove from heat, and stir in vanilla. Let cool. The sauce can be stored, covered, in the refrigerator for up to 2 weeks.

Yield: about 3 cups

 

This was an unbelievably easy recipe. I will definitely be making it again in the future! But only if I have a large amount of people coming over so I won’t eat it all…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bread Pudding Sunday

  1. willworkforfoodgirl says:

    Oh man. Bread pudding is the best and this recipe looks fantastic! I’m sooooo full, but a part of me things I could eat if this was in my house right now.

Leave a Reply

