Krakow, Poland

Above is one of the pages from my travel journal from my time in Krakow, Poland. I really didn’t know what to expect since I had never been before. I’d heard from a few people that it was a beautiful city… and boy was it ever. I think it was possibly one of the best places I visited while on my trip. Here are some pictures from my time there. I apologize for the poor quality of the photos. When I flew from Munich to Poland, the security person took my camera apart and did random things and then put it back together and next thing I knew my shutter was broken. So I had to use my little point and shoot Canon for the rest of the trip… It was heartbreaking…

My friend Martyna rented bikes for us so we journeyed around the city rather easily!

The beautiful and always lively main square.

The market under the main building in the square.

Annddd guess who was in Krakow during the annual pierogie festival?

Amazingness.

And we took a walk up to the castle. We also went to a wonderful orchestral show there one night. It was beautiful.

We also took a not-so-lovely bus ride to the south for a hike through the mountains. We had to take 2 bus rides – the first from Krakow was 3 hours and then a second one from the town up into the mountains. And then from there we walked for a couple of hours until we reached a beautiful lake.

There were lots and lots of other people around but I didn’t mind.

And apparently this is the second best apple cake in the mountains! It was delicious and much needed after our hike up!

We could have taken one of the horse carriages but the wait in line took the exact same amount of time for us to walk up and walk back down the mountain. We were speedy!

Annnddd back to Krakow. We visited many of the churches and synagogues in the city.

In the cultural museum there was a whole bunch of these houses that are apparently made around Christmas time. I really wanted to make one this year but I ran out of time! Next year!

I’m hoping I’ll be able to plan a much longer trip to Poland to see more! I can’t wait!

Thank you, Martyna, for being such an amazing tour guide!

2 thoughts on “Krakow, Poland

  1. Malou Prestado says:

    Wow, beautiful pictures of Krakow! My Polish colleague told me that it is a beautiful city and from your pictures, she’s not exaggerating.

Leave a Reply

