Scones (for a royal wedding)

Sorry for being m.i.a. these past few days! I am finally completely moved out of my Kingston home and am back at my home home. My mom and I toiled away for days trying to pack everything up! And of course in the craziness I forgot my camera cord.

Anywho, the day before the royal wedding I decided I just had to make scones! So I did and they were lovely to eat while watching Kate walk down the aisle in that gorgeous Sarah Burton for Alexander McQueen! You should all know that it was basically my mother’s wedding dress. She had such good taste when everyone was wearing crazy 80’s snow beast dresses!

If you want this festive feeling to last, you should definitely make these! You can add anything to them but I just made plain ones to enjoy with a good slab of butter.

I made mine more like a biscuit using a cup (since everything else was packed up) but you can also cut them into your typical scone shape.

Scones

(Recipe courtesy of Alton Brown from http://www.foodnetwork.ca)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 2 tablespoons shortening
  • 3/4 cup cream
  • 1 egg
  • Handful dried currants or dried cranberries (or try chocolate chips!)

Directions

Heat oven to 375 degrees.

In a large mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Mix well. Cut in butter and shortening. In a separate bowl, combine cream with beaten egg then add to dry ingredients. Stir in fruit. Turn doughย out onto a floured surface. Roll dough out and cut into biscuitย size rounds. Bake for 15 minutes or until brown.

Mmmmmm…

Maybe I should rewatch it now…

One thought on “Scones (for a royal wedding)

Leave a Reply

