S’more Cake

I had this amazing idea the other day for a s’more cake.

So I decided to try and create one using chocolate cake, marshmallow buttercream, crumbled graham crackers, and mini marshmallows. And it was truly awesome. I think I have been craving summer lately and s’mores always remind me of bonfires on summer nights at the cottage.

And I picked up some of this stuff for the icing haha. It’s so hard to find in our grocery store! It took me like an hour to track it down and found it amongst chocolate and caramel sauce. I’m not typically into such scary things but just look at this icing!

Delicciouusss…

My friend Jane and I piled up the layers. It began with the first chocolate cake, then a layer of the icing, then the crumbled up graham crackers, mini marshmallows, some icing to keep the next chocolate cake on top, then more icing on top of that, then some more graham crackers and marshmallows! It was beautiful.

We took it to a party last night and this is what happened:

Basic Chocolate Cake (from Donna Hay)

13 ¼ ounce butter (375 grams)

1 ½ cups brown sugar

3 eggs

2 cups all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

2/3 cup cocoa

¾ cup milk

 

Preheat oven to 325

Place butter and sugar, beat 8-10 mins

Add eggs and beat well

Fold in the dry ingredients

Stir in milk last

Bake for 1 hour 10 mins for cake (this is if it is 1 full cake – I did mine in 2 and they took about 45 minutes)

I love this chocolate cake recipe. It’s very dense and moist and works well as cupcakes and bundt cake form as well.

 

Marshmallow Frosting (from i am baker)

2 sticks butter

2 cups powder sugar

1 jar marshmallow fluff (7 oz)

2 teaspoons clear vanilla extract

In a bowl, add room temp. butter and sugar together.  Mix until fluffy.  Add marshmallow and vanilla, and mix well.

Then just pile up your s’more cake as you’d like! I wish I had one of those food blowtorch things for that would have melted the marshmallows perfectly. I also could have tried melting them in the oven but we were already late for the party. Next time! Still so yummyyyy…

 

Leave a Reply

